Gallery

Dogs & Cats Clinging to Life inside 20km No-Go Zone – 4

Nekosama Okoku (Kingdom of Dear Cats) just returned from Fukushima for yet again another rescue effort with two people from other organizations.

===========
Wedecided to break into two groups and I (Nekosama Okoku) went on my own to look for cats whose owners/evacuees requested her to look for.

As I was driving in pitch dark, I saw a cat sitting in the middle of a road indistance. After some struggle, I managed to catch the cat.

This cat weighed only less than 2kg (around 4.4 lbs)

Because of malnutrition, the cat’s fur has started to turn into reddish-brown.

As I came close to one of the houses I was asked to go to, I heard a cat meowing from inside the house. I was told that the cat tends to stay in/around the house, and thought it’s almost certain that this was the wanted cat.

It’s hard to see from the photo, but this cat sustained lots of scratches behind his ears. We learnt this was not the wanted cat, as that is a female cat but this is a boy.

As I continued to look for a cat ‘Choco’, there were cats and cats and cats..

The all meow so loud as if to tell me they are there…

They are starving and lonely…

Should we prioritize weak and injured ones?

Or should we rescue those that come to us and stay?

At one point, there is always a moment when I have to decide ‘I’d only feed him today, and it’ll be next time I’d rescue this cat out of the area’.

There was a cat whose one leg got stuck in the collar.
I tried to get her patiently…, but it disappeared.

In the meantime a cat appeared and was waiting for me by the car, meowing loudly as if to tell me ‘I’m here! I’m here!’.


The cat below also came to my car and stayed.

So I rescued both of them.
Unfortunately I was not able to get any cats I was requested to catch this time.

Then I got a call from another group, telling me a dog has been caught in a cat trap. A dog inside the little cage?


How did he get inside?
He had lots of scratches all over the body and looked so painful…

He’s a very quiet and gentle dog.

He wasn’t able to sit properly from these injuries…
We named him ‘Esper’.

We were convinced that he was meant to be brought out of the area.

Since our organization is for cats only, we asked one of the ladies at the ‘Nyanda Guard’ organization.  The dog would be taken to a vet clinic soon.
As of end September, we will have to pay for the toll-way again (toll fare was exempted for vehicles whose owners were affected by the disaster). There are still hard times coming not only for Fukushima but also for Miyagi and Iwate.

Although I haven’t met, there are many individual volunteers who go inside the no-go zone on a weekly basis. There are less NGOs working in the area now. The animals have been barely making it, but what’s going to happen later?

Animals that are called pets are living with humans as it’s a normal way.

They used to curl up on futon when the weather got chill and slept by their owners’ pillow or feet at night.

It depresses me when I think of these…

This is ‘Lucky’ we rescued the last time. His one leg was stuck in the collar that one of his underarms was badly injured.

He’s recovering from it little by little.
He’s eating ok now too.

Because he didn’t look comfortable breathing with a bandage around his body, the vet decided to take it off. The cat is likely to stay at the clinic for a very long time.

4 responses to “Dogs & Cats Clinging to Life inside 20km No-Go Zone – 4

  1. Please don’t give up! Keep going in to leave food and rescue the ones you can. They are crying for help! 😦 I am praying for them.

  2. Thank you so much to everyone working so hard to save the animals of Fukushima and the animals left homeless in the other prefectures! I have cats and am so happy to see these cats be rescued, brought back to health and loved and cared for!

  3. God bless you all with all your goodness… May you never get tired and have more patience with this poor animals…. I know some have good hearts too and will extend their help and support your group… ♥♥♥

  4. GOD BLESS YOU ALL THAT LOVE, SAVE AND CARE FOR ALL THESE ANIMALS!! YOU ARE GOOD, GOOD PEOPLE AND WE THANK YOU FOR ALL YOU DO FOR THE INNOCENTS!! THE CATS ARE CRYING OUT TO YOU, SO I SAY, DO NOT GIVE UP….THEY NEED YOU.<3

Leave a Reply

